News & Updates

Four Healthcare Scholarships Awarded to Local Seniors

Despite the cancellation of this year’s awards banquet, typically held in May, the scholarship review and application process went on, drawing a large group of talented and dedicated students for consideration by the scholarship committee.

Each year, the Martin H. Wennar Health Professions Scholarships are presented to graduating high school seniors entering collegiate studies in a health care field. Scholarships are awarded based on academic merit and community service.
This year’s winners are:

• Austin Archambault, from Richford High School, who will study nursing at the University of Vermont
• Bailey Beauregard, from Missisquoi Valley Union High School who will study nursing at the Vermont Technical College’s St. Albans campus
• Gabriella Caforia, from Enosburg Falls High School, who will study nursing at the University of Vermont.
• Miya Hatch, from Richford Jr. Sr. High School, who will study Dental Hygiene at Vermont Technical College

The Martin H. Wennar, MD, Health Education Scholarship Fund began as the NMC Health Professions Scholarship, established in 1987. In 2003, the fund was renamed and dedicated to Dr. Martin Wennar, a retired general surgeon who passed away in August 2009 following a battle with pancreatic cancer. Dr. Wennar and former NMC Chief Financial Officer Peter Georgeopoulos initiated the fund and its rededication honored Wennar’s long-standing commitment to encouraging health professions.


Bailey Beauregard

Gabriella Caforia

Miya Hatch

Austin Archambeault