News & Updates

Dr. Lowrey Sullivan Earns the 2020 Deogracias “Deo” P. Esguerra, MD Service Award

Dr. Lowrey Sullivan, longtime physician with Northwestern OB/GYN and President of the NMC Medical Staff was honored with the Deogracias “Deo” P. Esguerra, MD Service Award at NMC’s Medical Staff Appreciation event held last week.

The award was created in 2011 to honor a provider with a “passion for excellence and dedication to the patients of our community.” Its namesake, Dr. Esguerra, was known as a caring, passionate and inspirational physician who loved both the science and art of medicine.

Dr. John Minadeo, NMC’s Chief Medical Officer, said that Dr. Sullivan has been a loyal provider for the patients of this community and a reliable partner to its medical staff for over 20 years.  “He has the respect, friendship and admiration from patients, families, hospital staff and colleagues alike,” said Dr. Minadeo.

Dr. Minadeo went on: “I had the privilege of overlapping a little bit with Dr. Deo Esguerra, and the traits I remember of him were that he was ever present, always willing to help, always happy to do so, and despite working all hours, he seemed to draw energy from giving to others.  I can’t think of anyone who has represented those ideals over as long of a time as you have.”

Dr. Sullivan joins a list of “Deo Award” honors that that includes Dr. Fred Holmes, Dr. Frank Zsoldos, Dr. Mike Corrigan, Dr. Chip Chiappinelli, Dr. Robert Zelazo, Dr. Stephen Payne, Dr. Toby Sadkin, Dr. John Minadeo and Dr. Robert Beattie.

This year’s Medical Staff Appreciation event was held remotely with the exception of award presentations. During the meeting, new providers were recognized, and physicians and advance practice providers who achieved milestones in length of service were also honored.

Three additional physicians were recognized for their leadership during the presentation. Dr. Louis Dandurand earned the Distinguished Achievement Award, Dr. Haitham Nsour earned the Clinical and Cultural Excellence Award, Dr. Judy Fingergut earned the Leadership Award.