News & Updates

Dr. Louis Dandurand Earns the 2022 Deogracias “Deo” P. Esguerra, MD Service Award

Dr. Louis Dandurand, Emergency Department Medical Director, was honored with the Deogracias “Deo” P. Esguerra, MD Service Award at NMC’s Medical Staff Appreciation event held earlier this month.

The award was created in 2011 to honor a provider with a “passion for excellence and dedication to the patients of our community.” Its namesake, Dr. Esguerra, was known as a caring, passionate and inspirational physician who loved both the science and art of medicine.

“I have been so fortunate to live and work in the community in which I grew up and love, to help neighbors, friends and community members in their times of highest need and develop trust and therapeutic relationship in a wide variety of emergency situations. More recently, rising to the challenges of an epidemic and supporting our community as a whole, have led my focus of care towards colleagues and our organization.  I am deeply humbled and honored by the ‘Deo’ award and will use it as a catalyst to continue creating systems of medical care that are effective, safe, and provide ease of access to anyone in our community,” Dr. Dandurand says.

Dr. Dandurand joins a list of “Deo Award” honors that that includes Dr. Fred Holmes, Dr. Frank Zsoldos, Dr. Mike Corrigan, Dr. Chip Chiappinelli, Dr. Robert Zelazo, Dr. Stephen Payne, Dr. Toby Sadkin, Dr. John Minadeo, Dr. Robert Beattie, Dr. Lowery Sullivan, and Dr. Laura Bellstrom.

This year’s Medical Staff Appreciation event was held in person at the Barn at Boyden Farm in Cambridge. During the meeting, new providers were recognized, and physicians and advance practice providers who achieved milestones in length of service were also honored.

Three additional physicians were recognized for their leadership during the presentation. Dr. Leonard Tremblay earned the Distinguished Achievement Award, Nicole Stone, CRNA earned the Clinical and Cultural Excellence Award, and Dr. Marc Kutler earned the Leadership Award.

PHOTO CAPTION: Dr. Louis Dandurand accepted the “Deo” P. Esguerra, MD Service Award from last year’s honoree, Dr. Laura Bellstrom as well as Chief Medical and Quality Officer, Dr. John Minadeo, and past Deo Award honoree, Dr. Robert Beattie.