News & Updates

Dr. Laura Bellstrom Earns the 2021 Deogracias “Deo” P. Esguerra, MD Service Award

Dr. Laura Bellstrom, longtime pediatrician, was honored with the Deogracias “Deo” P. Esguerra, MD Service Award at NMC’s Medical Staff Appreciation event held earlier this month.

The award was created in 2011 to honor a provider with a “passion for excellence and dedication to the patients of our community.” Its namesake, Dr. Esguerra, was known as a caring, passionate and inspirational physician who loved both the science and art of medicine.

“What I am most passionate about and has been most rewarding is making connections with patients and their families over time and through many events in their lives and at times becoming an extension to the families of patients for whom I have cared.  It is a true honor to be invited into the lives of patients at the time of their births, follow them through infancy, the toddler and early childhood years, into adolescence and adulthood and take part in the good and the bad times and help navigate all of this” Dr. Bellstrom says.

Dr. Bellstrom joins a list of “Deo Award” honors that that includes Dr. Fred Holmes, Dr. Frank Zsoldos, Dr. Mike Corrigan, Dr. Chip Chiappinelli, Dr. Robert Zelazo, Dr. Stephen Payne, Dr. Toby Sadkin, Dr. John Minadeo, Dr. Robert Beattie, and Dr. Lowery Sullivan.

This year’s Medical Staff Appreciation event was held remotely with the exception of award presentations. During the meeting, new providers were recognized, and physicians and advance practice providers who achieved milestones in length of service were also honored.

Three additional physicians were recognized for their leadership during the presentation. Dr. Chip Chiappinelli earned the Distinguished Achievement Award, Dr. Stewart Manchester earned the Clinical and Cultural Excellence Award, Sarah DeSilvey, FNP earned the Leadership Award.

PHOTO CAPTION: Dr. Laura Bellstrom accepted the “Deo” P. Esguerra, MD Service Award from last year’s honoree, Dr. Lowry Sullivan.